Lightweight Xfce on Freebsd

Posted in FREEBSD by edeguzman on June 20, 2009

Lately I was on a dilemma on what desktop environment I will install on my freebsd.  The gnome desktop environemt was not that stable on freebsd, alot of time it crashes.  The only stable desktop environment for freebsd is the KDE but the only problem on KDE it includes alot of packages that most of those packages are of no used.

A friend of mine suggest to just install a window manager just like fluxbox or blackbox, in that sense all I have to do is to install the necessary packages.  That’s really the most lightweight thing I can do on my freebsd but I want a little of GUI thing on the freebsd, and the answer is Xfce.

Xfce so far I can consider the most lightweight desktop environment on unix or linux environment.  I just allocated 10gig for the freebsd and the other remaining was left for my windows.  That’s why I need a really light weight desktop environment.

Below are the steps that I did on the installation of Xfce.

A binary package for XFce exists,  To install, simply type:

# pkg_add -r xfce4

Or the other way around is  from source, use the ports collection:

# cd /usr/ports/x11-wm/xfce4
# make install clean

After the installation telll the X server to launch Xfce the next time X is started. Simply type this:

% echo "/usr/local/bin/startxfce4" > ~/.xinitrc

Below are the screenshots....

cheers =)

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Albert said, on March 28, 2013 at 11:09 am

    I also have an inclination to use Xfce on my recent installation and configuration of FreeBSD 9.0


Leave a Reply

